Today for no particular reason, when I was looking @ what APPS need to be updated on my Galaxy Nexus, figured what Google is upto. Google MAPS updated version on Android devices shows this in “APP PERMISSIONS” just before you actually “Update”.
Your Social Information
NEW: Read Your Contacts ( When you actually TAP on this item, below is what it shows )
“Allow the app to read data about your contacts stored on your phone, including the frequency with which you’ve called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals. This permission allows apps to save your contact data, and malicious apps may share contact data without your knowledge“
Note: This is not the actual screenshot of the Android, since I was not able to take one due to non-rooted phone – but this is precisely what the APP permissions seek from your phone.
Is there really no control over these tactics?